Twelfth Month Life Lesson – Where does the time go?

I’ve been procrastinating writing this post for oh, about four months now. It’s not because I didn’t have anything to say. It’s because I had too much to say. It felt impossible to pick one topic to be my capstone for these entries. There was so much I hadn’t had time to write about. How would I ever choose?

It dawned on me the other day that I should write about the very thing that I lacked – time. I had the realization awhile back that I haven’t been bored for a single second since having Jeremiah. Before I had Jeremiah I might have caught myself without something to do. Now I never have to look for something to be done as it is always staring me in the face – taking care of Jeremiah, household tasks, errands, down time, and the list goes on and on. I’m pretty sure if the day had 25 hours in it, I’d need 26.

It seems like my life moves at warp speed now. Didn’t Jeremiah just turn one anyways? Nope, he’s already fifteen months old and will soon be sixteen months old. I finally understand what people mean when they say that it seems like yesterday that their thirty year old was just born. While I might be counting months now, soon it will be years.

Over the past year or so, I have learned that there is never enough time to do everything. Sometimes my house will be dirty. Sometimes we’ll have takeout for dinner. Sometimes a birthday present will be late. Sometimes my garden will have weeds. Sometimes I will need to turn down invitations to do things. And sometimes for seasons in my life, this list of exceptions will become the norm and I’m okay with that.

 

Categories: Parenting | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What are your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

