Spring Cleaning in the Garden

Since Jeremiah was so small last year, I didn’t get out to garden much. I planted a few things and utilized the survival of the fittest after getting everything planted. We didn’t have much to show for it, so it made me eager to get back into the garden this year.

Not only did I neglect my plants in season, but I failed to clean out my garden once all the plants died. I finally got around to doing this back in March. Much to my pleasure I discovered that I already had two plants alive! Apparently, parsley and chives are perennials. Now that I know this, I’ll probably transplant them to my regular flower bed once they go dormant in the fall.

Cleaned up and all ready for plants

Cleaned up and all ready for plants

In addition to removing the old plants, I like to amend the soil in order to add back nutrients and to make up for any lost soil. Usually, I add some version of Mel’s Mix in a smaller proportion, but this year I actually had some of my own compost so I decided to add that instead.

Fresh homegrown compost

Fresh homegrown compost

You’ll notice the clumps in the compost. Most of those crumbled apart as I put them into the garden. Isn’t that crazy that all of that dirt used to be trash? Now it’s going to feed my plants for the summer. I also sprinkled some lime and fertilizer into the bed. Now you can see the final product.

Doesn't that dirt look amazing?

Doesn’t that dirt look amazing?

 What do you do to prep your garden? Tell me what I’m missing!

Categories: Gardening | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning in the Garden

  1. Where do you keep your compost? Do you put it in a container or just pile it in the back yard or something?

    • I have two compost barrels that spin that I bought from Southern States. I decided against a regular compost pile for two reasons. They can attract rodents/bugs, something I’d like to avoid in my smaller suburban yard. Second, they can take up to a year for the matter to deco pose if they’re not turned regularly, something I did not want to try to do with a pitchfork. Regardless of which route you go, composting is one of the easiest things to do out there. It’s literally fail proof!

      • Awesome! Thank you, there’s so many different kinds of “compost containers” out there, it’s great to get a personal review. I didn’t want to do a pile either, for those reasons you mentioned and also because I’m afraid the dog would try to eat out of it and end up making himself sick. Southern States it is. 🙂

      • Ooo, let me know how it goes!

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

