Gearing Up for My Summer Garden

My sister and family came to visit this past week. My sister totally called me out on my lack of blogging lately. Basically, I’ve just been procrastinating as I prioritize other tasks over blogging. I’m going to try to do better, so if you notice it’s been awhile, a gentle nudge is all I need!

Last week we had a couple of beautiful days, so I took Jeremiah outside and managed to pull a few weeds out of my garden while Jeremiah explored the yard. It made me realize that I need to decide what I’ll be planting this year. For the past two years, I’ve always planted some variety of tomatoes, lettuce, spinach, herbs, cucumber, pepper, and onions. The first four have always done well and I’ll definitely plant those again this year. Even though I really want to grow my own cucumbers and peppers, I feel like I need to take a break this year as they’ve never done well.

I’m looking for suggestions of plants that are low maintenance and easy to grow in a raised bed utilizing the square foot gardening method. What have you had success with?

Categories: Gardening | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Gearing Up for My Summer Garden

  1. I’m working on gardening this year too. I’m posting a series on gardening that a friend of mine is guest writing – he’s really good at it and has been doing it for a long time. His posts might be able to help, I’ll let you know when they’re posted. 🙂

  2. raspberries or blackberries…they are like weeds in growth and oh so yummy! they come back every year too, so plant them in a sunny spot and you’ll enjoy them for years.

    • Are they a bulb plant or a perennial? We bought some strawberry bulbs that we’ve yet to plant because we have moles and voles that like to eat our bulbs so we have to build cages to plant them in. A lot of extra work, but totally worth it to preserve the plants. I never thought about other berries. We’ll have to look into that. Thanks, Debbie!

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

