Seventh Month Life Lesson – Baby Clothes Basics

Like last month’s post, this one is also about some practical things I’ve learned since being a mom, specifically in regards to baby clothes.

1. Baby mittens are ridiculously hard to find, but if your baby is like mine then you won’t need them anyways because he’ll refuse to wear them. You’ll give in to the fact that he’s going to scratch himself because no matter how hard you try his nails are always sharp.

2. Baby socks, unlike mittens, are in abundance, but always manage to come off as well unless you buy athletic socks like these from Old Navy. Once you buy them, you’ll never go back to the more dressy socks. Plus, they have little grippies on them that come in handy once your baby starts pulling up.

3. Baby hats are overrated. I hardly ever put one on Jeremiah. His head was big for his age so most of them didn’t fit anyways. He was always warm enough without them. I rarely see pictures of other people’s babies with hats on either.

4. You can never have too many bibs, washcloths, or around the house clothes as far as I’m concerned. There is nothing worse than running out of these items when you don’t plan to do laundry yet. Everyone says how you’ll have way too many clothes. Yeah, I never felt this way, ever.

5. I am obsessed with baby gowns. If it wasn’t for my sister’s mother-in-law giving me some, I would have never used them. They make nighttime diaper changes so much quicker. If you have a newborn, you should definitely try them.

6. Once your baby outgrows baby gowns or you need something warmer, I love a sleep sack. Jeremiah sleeps so much better when he’s all warm and cozy. I personally like Halo because they make them in bigger sizes for older babies.

7. The novelty of buying baby clothes wears off after the 3-6 month sizing. Maybe that’s because it’s the first time you don’t have a stockade from your baby shower and you realize you have to buy a new wardrobe every few months to accommodate the changing seasons whereas adults only need a few new pieces each season.

8. Once #7 starts to sink in, you slowly realize that you should have never bought 6-9 month clothing, instead opting for 6-12 month clothing. Sure it will be more baggy in the beginning, but it’s one less piece of clothing you have to hunt down and buy in three months.

9. While I prefer one piece outfits, they don’t always pair well with cloth diapers. Jeremiah’s butt always outgrows them first. Don’t get me wrong, they were essential as a newborn.

10. I don’t care what The Best Baby on the Block says, not all babies like to be swaddled. Jeremiah hated having his arms and legs constrained. I’m so glad I didn’t buy a ton of these before he was born.

11. I’m a huge proponent of shopping second-hand for clothing. Not only is it cheaper, but it’s more sustainable. My favorite consignment shop also happens to sell new items as well. If you’re ever at the Outer Banks, you should visit Rock-A-Bye Baby in Nags Head at Mile Post 14.5.

Alright mamas, what did I miss?

Categories: Parenting | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Seventh Month Life Lesson – Baby Clothes Basics

  1. Pingback: Eighth Month Life Lesson « Branching Out Indeed

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

