Fifth Month Life Lesson – Who has time to procrastinate?

It’s back to school time again. For the first time in twenty-one years, I am not gearing up for a new school year. While I feel odd not getting ready for another year of teaching, I can’t think of any place I’d rather be than with Jeremiah.

As I’ve reflected over my brief teaching career the past few weeks, I am reminded of my very first year of teaching. Boy was that a mess! I was extremely overwhelmed and under confident – very similar to how I felt when we first brought Jeremiah home. During my first year of teaching, one of the veteran teachers had a baby. When she came back from maternity leave, I asked her how she managed it all. She told me that she wasted a lot of time before her baby was born. I kind of shrugged off her response. I was organized and motivated and I was barely making it. I couldn’t fathom the idea of working and having a baby to go home to as well.

If only I had known then what I know now! Over the past five months, I have definitely grown to understand the meaning of my co-worker’s words. Not only did I waste a huge amount of time, but I was also extremely inefficient in getting tasks done. I know that this will be an ongoing lesson for me as Jeremiah grows increasingly more mobile.

Categories: Parenting | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Fifth Month Life Lesson – Who has time to procrastinate?

  1. Aunt Fran

    Mothers are the most experienced multi-taskers on earth!

What are your thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

