Herbed Bulgur Lentil Salad – An Experiment with Mint

Since I’m trying to get back in shape since having Jeremiah, I’ve been on the lookout for easy, healthy, and FILLING recipes. I think it’s pretty easy to find healthy recipes, but they often leave me wanting more when I’m finished eating. The fiber and protein of this dish pack a filling punch. This recipe caught my eye because it uses lentils, one of my favorite beans, and bulgur, one of my favorite grains. I figured the smoky taste of lentils in combination with the nutty taste of bulgur was bound to be good. Plus, I’m a huge fan of herbs. I cannot stand bland food! While I’m not crazy about mint, I actually liked it in this recipe. I think the lemon and dill toned down the mint flavor. If you’re hesitate about the mint, then try it without and let me know what you think. Below you will find how I prepared it. You can find the original recipe at SparkPeople, the website I use to track my food and fitness (it’s free, check it out!).

1 c. dry, green lentils yellow
1 c. dry bulgur
1/4 c. olive oil
1/4 c. lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, smashed
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. dried mint
3 tsp. dried dill
black pepper, to taste
4 tsp. dried parsley
1/3 c. red onion, finely chopped
1 bell pepper, diced

Wash lentils and remove any debris. Place in a medium-sized saucepan, cover with water, and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down and allow to simmer for 20 minutes or until tender. Drain well, and then transfer to a large bowl.

While the lentils are cooking, place the bulgur in a small pot and cover with two cups of water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 12 minutes.

Add everything to the lentils and mix thoroughly. Cover and refrigerate.

Herbed Bulgur & Lentil Salad

Categories: Cooking | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Herbed Bulgur Lentil Salad – An Experiment with Mint

  1. Keith Page

    I think it is important to eat filling food too! Especially vegetarian food. It’s usually cheap, and usually filling, but not always filling.

    • Good point! I’ve read some articles about the correlation between meat consumption and carbon emissions. While I love meat, it has made me think about the quantity of meat that I consume.

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

