Second Month Life Lesson – Now I know how much my mom loves me.

Jeremiah is already ten weeks old today! I can’t believe how much I’ve seen him grow and change in that short time. It’s been so amazing to watch his personality blossom. So far I can say without a shadow of a doubt that he is outgoing, bubbly, playful, curious, and determined. These traits stood out over the past few days as we spent time with my three-month old nephew. He, on the other hand, is extremely laid back and relaxed. I think they will compliment each other well as playmates in the years to come. I am looking forward to watching their personalities grow and develop.

Just like they have blossomed over the past few months, so have I. My Mom always told me that there is no love like the love you have for a child. When I spoke to her for the first time after giving birth to Jeremiah, she said, “Now you know how much I love you.” Talk about a tear jerker! Those words hit me hard that day. Even though I felt like I finally understood what she meant, I had only just begun to skim the surface. With each passing day, I continue to peel back another layer of meaning from that statement.

Since becoming a mother, I have developed a deeper appreciation of my Mom. It makes me regret the ways that I’ve taken her for granted over the years. Not only has she kept my best interests at heart, but she has loved me at my ugliest, most hateful moments. Even if you think I’m being an over emotional new mom, take a minute to thank your mom for putting up with your nonsense. She loves you, flaws and all.

I think this message has been especially heavy on my heart this past week as we celebrated Easter. I hope that while I continue to learn what motherly love is all about that I would grow in being able to love others more fully.

Categories: Parenting | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Second Month Life Lesson – Now I know how much my mom loves me.

  1. Aunt Fran

    I read a quote years ago that said something like ‘deciding to have a baby is deciding to have your heart walk around outside your body for the rest of your life’. It’s so true! No matter how old your children are, we mothers think about them every single day.

    • I can’t imagine what it will feel like once Jeremiah is older. It’s funny how I think about him when I’m away from him. I’ve gone to the store a few times by myself and I’m fine until I hear another baby crying. It automatically makes me worried!

  2. Emily Sides

    Love this post! So sweet. :o) And too true. I know I don’t have kids of my own yet, but with my “daytime babies,” it makes my heart hurt sometime with how much I love them and then thinking on how much my Mom loved me. And on the light side of things, it makes you thankful for the strangest things! After going through potty-training toddlers, it makes me super thankful that my Mom potty-trained us and especially with me and Laura, that she did it with two at once! :o)
    -Em

    • Yes, it takes a super mom to raise twins, and two sets at that! I used to want twins. Now I know that God blessed with only one for a reason;-)

  3. I can’t wait for my daughter to make me a grandmother. Whaqt a beautiful post!

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

