My garden is growing…for now!

It’s that time of year again. Time to start the garden. Last year was my first time having a garden. I have a raised bed that my husband and godfather so generously built for me. I utilize the square foot gardening method. It’s pretty simple once you get the general concept down and it’s a way more efficient use of space. I only have one 4′ x 4′ bed, but I hope to expand in the future.

Garden 2011

I was able to plant my first vegetables and herbs on Tuesday thanks to a friend’s generosity to watch Jeremiah for me. I dabbled in growing my own plants from seeds last year and it was huge flop! I’m going to table that interest until next year. Instead I went to my trusty Lowes and Southern States to get transplants. (If you haven’t visited a Southern States, you really should. It’s a farmer owned cooperative!)

Last year my spinach and lettuce did really well. I tried several different kinds of lettuce. While I enjoyed the taste of all of them, I found the curlier lettuce (Buttercrunch) to be more worrisome to wash. This year I’m trying out Great Lakes Lettuce, head style lettuce, mainly because my options were limited and the Romaine looked rough!

I stuck with basic herbs of parsley and basil last year. I found that I had too many herbs with four plants per square, so I decided to cut back on quantity and expand on variety. It’s hard to believe that as much as I love basil, I forgot to buy it. I did manage to plant parsley, cilantro, and chives.

Since I was so excited to have a garden last year, I kind of went overboard when I bought the plants to fill it. I tried carrots from seed, onions from sets, and Brussels sprouts without knowing much about any of them. They all failed and I vowed to stay away from them this year. Well, I couldn’t resist the idea of plantingĀ Georgia Sweet onions as I love the Vidalia onion taste. Hopefully, I’ll have better luck this year as I’m pretty sure they just needed more water.

My gamble plant of spring 2012 is bok choy. Even though I’ve never made anything with bok choy and I rarely eat it, the idea of growing bok choy made me feel adventurous. Really, it was just an impulse buy. Regardless, I’m excited to learn more about bok choy this year.

Bok Choy

Here’s a look at what I have so far.

Garden 2012

Categories: Gardening | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “My garden is growing…for now!

  1. Pingback: SPRING HAS SPRUNG!!! « Planting The Seeds

  2. I like this! I see that I am not the only one that is having fun!!!

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 388 other followers

